Don't have an account? Click Here
Lacrosse Picked to Win MPSF
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 01/24/2012

Jan. 24, 2012

MPSF Preseason Poll Get Acrobat Reader

STANFORD, Calif. - The seven-time defending MPSF champions has been selected by the coaches to win the conference again in 2012. The Cardinal was a near unanimous choice, earning six of the eight first place votes and 48 points overall.

Oregon was picked as the conference runner-up, earning the remaining two first-place votes. The Ducks led Stanford 7-0 in the conference championship game a year ago, but the Cardinal roared back to win the game and the title.

The rest of the conference was picked as Denver, California, UC Davis, Saint Mary's, San Diego State and Fresno State. San Diego State is in its first year as a program and has joined the MPSF to make it an eight-team conference.

Stanford has established itself as an elite teams on the national scene in recent years under head coach Amy Bokker. The Cardinal advanced to its second-straight NCAA tournament a year ago and achieved its highest-ever national ranking of No. 6 during the season.

The Cardinal will have a new look this year with the graduation of several starters and its top-four goal scorers. Former MPSF Players of the Year Leslie Foard and Lauren Schmidt have graduated, but Stanford has reloaded around a young team recruited by Bokker.

The Cardinal opens its season on February 10 at home against defending national champion Northwestern.



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
Stanford Baseball vs. USC