Don't have an account? Click Here
Stanford Men's II Eight Into IRA Grand Final
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 06/01/2012

June 1, 2012

IRA Results | IRA Championships Central | IRA Schedule

CHERRY HILL, N.J. - Stanford's men's II Eight made history at the IRA Championships on Cooper River Friday, becoming the first Cardinal boat to qualify for the IRA Championships II Eight Grand Final.

The II Eight will row for the IRA title Saturday morning at 7:45 a.m. PT.

"Historical races are rare. Today our Second Varsity earned a place in the IRA National Championship final for the first time in Stanford Men's Crew history," said Stanford men's rowing head coach Craig Amerkhanian. "These men rowed with selfless dedication and fire."

Stanford's I Eight and Frosh Eight boats will row in Saturday's Third Finals of their respective classes. The I Eight Third Final is set for 8:15 a.m. PT with the Frosh Eight Third Final beginning at 6:25 a.m. PT.

Friday, the II Eight competed in the first semifinal of its class. Washington and Harvard separated from the pack to finish first and second, claiming the first two spots in the Grand Final, leaving Stanford, Navy, Princeton and Syracuse to battle for the final spot.

The Cardinal would dig deep as the final spot in the Grand Final came down to it and Navy. In the end, Stanford would hold off the Midshipmen by 1.405 seconds, crossing the line with a final time of 6:23.546.

Saturday's II Eight Grand Final will feature Stanford, Washington, Harvard, California, Wisconsin and Brown.

Stanford Lineups

I Eight
Cox - Alex Topacio
8 - Will Faulkner
7 - Austin Hack
6 - Dean Walker
5 - Peter Leemputte
4 - Oivind Lorentzen
3 - Jason Lupatkin
2 - Ryan Sudeck
1 - Alec Mcrae

II Eight
Cox - Shane Hedge
8 - Dave Dolben
7 - Will Dannemann
6 - Reed Thayer
5 - Chip Schroeder
4 - Edwin Brower
3 - Andrew Boothe
2 - Cole Johnson
1 - Will Robins

Frosh 8
Cox - Sierra Manker
8 - Everett Watson
7 - Scott Roycroft
6 - Kaess Smit
5 - Karsten Lutz
4 - Andrew Terajewicz
3 - Seth Hildick-Smith
2 - John Lambert
1 - Alistair Inglis



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts