Don't have an account? Click Here
Stanford Competes in Western Intercollegiate
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 04/12/2013

April 12, 2013

Golfstat Live Scoring

SANTA CRUZ, Calif. - No. 8 Stanford men's golf, up two spots in the Golfweek rankings, compete in the 67th annual Western Intercollegiate on Saturday and Sunday at Pasatiempo Golf Club.

The Cardinal is joined by top-ranked California, No. 5 UCLA, No. 6 Washington and No. 10 Southern California, headlining a field that also includes Pac-12 rivals Oregon and Arizona State.

Rounding out the 14-team field are San Diego State, Fresno State, UC Irvine, San Jose State, Denver, Hawaii and UTEP.

"The team had some great weeks of preparation, working on accuracy off the tee as well as short game," said The Knowles Family Director of Golf Conrad Ray. "We played locally at the Los Altos Country Club and Sharon Heights, which are both tight courses in trying to simulate the tee shots we might find at Pasatiempo."

Stanford returns to competition after a six-stroke victory at the U.S. Intercollegiate where four players finished in the top six of the leaderboard.  

Ray starts a lineup featuring sophomore Patrick Rodgers, senior Andrew Yun, junior Cameron Wilson, freshman David Boote, senior Steve Kearney and sophomore Patrick Grimes.

Freshman Dominick Francks and junior Shane Lebow compete as individuals.

"We're excited about Steve grabbing that fifth spot after his really low round the final day of the U.S. Intercollegiate," Ray said. "We felt like he deserved that."

Kearney, who competed as an individual in the U.S. Intercollegiate, missed qualifying into the lineup by one stroke. The senior made seven birdies to go five under in the third round, pushing him to an eighth place finish and a return to the original spring lineup.

Stanford has won the Western Intercollegiate team title eight times, including the inaugural tourney in 1947. The Cardinal holds the longest winning streak at five victories from 1951-1955. The last time Stanford captured the title was in 1996 and before that 1962.

Five Cardinal alumni have won the individual title: Fred Brown (1952), Charles Van Linge (1954), Joe Kribel (1997 and 1999), Rob Grube (2006) and Patrick Rodgers (2012).

Pasatiempo Golf Club plays approximately 6,615 yards and to a par of 70. Two rounds will be played on Saturday, while Sunday holds the final round.

The low five scores of each six-player team count for each 18-hole round. Shotgun start begins at 8:15 a.m. both days.

"The course looks to be in lovely shape," Ray said. "It'll be a good test before we head to postseason."

Follow @StanfordMGolf on Twitter for up-to-the-minute updates and quotes from the team. Get to know the players and the program through the daily features at



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts