Don't have an account? Click Here
Andrew Luck Named Pac-10's Offensive Player of the Year
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 12/07/2010

Dec. 7, 2010

All-Pac-10 Team

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.-- Quarterback Andrew Luck was named the Pacific-10 Conference’s Offensive Player of the Year while six other Stanford players landed first team accolades on the 2010 All-Pac-10 Conference Football Team, which was announced on Tuesday.

Stanford, along with Oregon, placed the most players on the first team with seven selections each, followed by California and USC with three each. It marks the first time since 1999 Stanford had seven first team all-conference selections.

Luck threw for 3,051 yards and a school-record 28 touchdowns and led all conference quarterbacks in passing efficiency with a 166.1 mark. He quarterbacked a Stanford squad that scored 40.3 points on the season, which was the second highest average in the Pac-10 and one that ranks eighth nationally.

Luck is the second consecutive Stanford player to be named the Pac-10’s Offensive Player of the Year, following running back Toby Gerhart, who earned the honor in 2009. Luck is also the first Stanford quarterback to earn the award since John Elway in 1982, who shared the conference’s player of the year honor with UCLA’s Todd Ramsey.

Luck was one of three unanimous selections, along with Arizona wide receiver Juron Criner, Arizona State defensive back Omar Bolden and Oregon punt returner Cliff Harris.

marecicJoining Luck as first team selections were running back Owen Marecic, offensive linemen Chase Beeler, David DeCastro and Jonathan Martin, kicker Nate Whitaker and special teams player Chike Amajoyi.

With the selections of Beeler, DeCastro and Martin, Stanford linemen occupied three of the five spots on the first team. The Cardinal line has helped a young rushing attack average 211.0 yards per game and has allowed the second fewest sacks in the nation.

Whitaker led all conference kickers in field goal accuracy, converting 17-of-19 (89.4) of his tries on the year. His career field goal percentage of 80.4 (33-of-41) currently ranks first on Stanford’s all-time career list.

Marecic, the only two-way starter in the nation among Football Bowl Subdivision schools, also earned honorable mention marks as a linebacker.

Four Stanford players earned spots on the second team, including wide receiver Doug Baldwin, tight end Coby Fleener, lineman Siona Fua and defensive back Delano Howell

Baldwin leads Stanford in receptions (56), receiving yardage (824) and touchdown receptions (9) and also ranks fifth in the Pac-10 in receiving yards per game (68.67).

Fleener has caught 22 passes for 261 yards and four touchdowns from his tight end position to rank as the team’s fifth leading receiver.

Fua has totaled 22 tackles on the season, including 4.0 sacks among his 6.0 tackles-for-loss.

phillipsHowell ranks as the team’s fourth leading tackler with 56 stops and also has four interceptions on the year, which are tied for the team lead.

Earning honorable mention accolades were offensive lineman Derek Hall; linebacker Thomas Keiser; defensive linemen Matt Masifilo; linebacker Owen Marecic; offensive lineman Andrew Phillips; tight end Konrad Reuland; defensive back Richard Sherman; linebacker Shayne Skov; running back Stepfan Taylor; punt returner Drew Terrell; linebacker Chase Thomas; defensive back Michael Thomas; and wide receiver Ryan Whalen.

Oregon State defensive tackle Stephen Paea was named the Pat Tillman Defensive Player of the Year. USC wide receiver Robert Woods was named the conference’s offensive freshman of the year, while Arizona State defensive tackle Junior Onyeali was named the conference’s defensive freshman of the year.

Oregon’s Chip Kelly was named the Pac-10 Coach of the Year.

The All-Pac-10 team is selected by the conference’s head coaches.

Andrew Luck, Pac-10 Offensive Player of the Year
Andrew Luck, first team All-Pac-10 (offense)
Owen Marecic, first team All-Pac-10 (offense)
Chase Beeler, first team All-Pac-10 (offense)
David DeCastro, first team All-Pac-10 (offense)
Jonathan Martin, first team All-Pac-10 (offense)
Nate Whitaker, first team All-Pac-10 (special teams)
Chike Amajoyi, first team All-Pac-10 (special teams)

Doug Baldwin, second team All-Pac-10 (offense)
Coby Fleener, second team All-Pac-10 (offense)
Sione Fua, second team All-Pac-10 (defense)
Delano Howell, second team All-Pac-10 (defense)

Derek Hall, honorable mention All-Pac-10 (offense)
Thomas Keiser, honorable mention All-Pac-10 (defense)
Matthew Masifilo, honorable mention All-Pac-10 (defense)
Owen Marecic, , honorable mention All-Pac-10 (defense)
Andrew Phillips, , honorable mention All-Pac-10 (offense)
Konrad Reuland, honorable mention All-Pac-10 (offense)
Richard Sherman, honorable mention All-Pac-10 (offense)
Shayne Skov, honorable mention All-Pac-10 (defense)
Stepfan Taylor, honorable mention All-Pac-10 (offense)
Drew Terrell, honorable mention All-Pac-10 (special teams)
Chase Thomas, honorable mention All-Pac-10 (defense)
Michael Thomas, honorable mention All-Pac-10 (defense)
Ryan Whalen, honorable mention All-Pac-10 (offense)



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts