Don't have an account? Click Here
Ashley Hansen Among 10 Finalists for Lowe's Senior CLASS Award
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 04/04/2012

April 4, 2012

STANFORD, Calif. - Stanford shortstop Ashley Hansen was listed in an impressive lineup of 10 senior student-athletes today, when the finalists were announced for the 2012 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award. Each year, the award is presented to student-athletes who excel not only on the playing field, but also in the classroom and in their community.

The 10 finalists have garnered tremendous achievements both on and off the field and were chosen from a list of 30 candidates based on personal qualities that define a complete student-athlete - classroom, community, character and competition.

Nationwide balloting begins immediately and continues through May 14 to determine the sixth annual winner, who will receive the award during the NCAA Women's College World Series in Oklahoma City, Okla.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages those leaders to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact.

Hansen, a management, science and engineering major at Stanford, is the Cardinal's third top-10 candidate for the award as Missy Penna and Alissa Haber were finalists in 2009 and 2010, respectively. She is a two-time Louisville Slugger/NFCA All-American and the reigning USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year. Additionally, Hansen was the Pac-10 Player of the Year in 2011 and the conference's Freshman of the Year in 2009. Hansen has already broken the school record for career doubles (74) and ranks in the top-10 all-time in program history in hits (274), triples (14), RBI (165) and runs scored (169).

In addition to Hansen, the 2012 finalists are: Valerie Arioto, California, Katelyn Boyd, Arizona State, Mallory Duran-Sellers, Southern Illinois, Julie Fernandez, Lehigh, Michelle Moultrie, Florida, Christi Orgeron, Louisiana-Lafayette, Cassie Reilly-Boccia, Alabama, Stephanie Ricketts, Hawai'i and Niki Williams, Washington.

These 10 names will be placed on the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award softball ballot for a nationwide vote beginning today and concluding May 14. Fan balloting is available on the award's official Web site, These votes will be combined with votes from coaches and media to determine the recipient of the award.

This marks the sixth year for the softball division of the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award. In 2007, University of Arizona outfielder Caitlin Lowe won the inaugural softball award. Last season, Radford pitcher Chelsea Kelley took home the award.



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts