Don't have an account? Click Here
Taylor Named Pac-12 Player of the Year
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 11/09/2011

All-Pac-12 Get Acrobat Reader

Nov. 9, 2011

STANFORD, Calif. - Senior forward Lindsay Taylor was named Pac-12 Player of the Year on Wednesday, leading a Stanford sweep of conference awards.

Chioma Ubogagu was named Freshman of the Year and Paul Ratcliffe earned his fourth consecutive conference Coach of the Year award.

In all, Stanford had eight all-conference selections, including five on the first team: Taylor, senior midfielders Camille Levin and Teresa Noyola, junior defender Alina Garciamendez, and sophomore goalkeeper Emily Oliver.

Ubogagu, a forward, was named to the second team along with junior defender Rachel Quon. Junior midfielder Mariah Nogueirawas an honorable mention choice.

In addition, Ubogagu and defender Kendall Romine were named to the All-Freshman team.

Taylor became the third consecutive Stanford player to earn Pac-12 Player of the Year honors, following Christen Press last year and Kelley O'Hara in 2009. Like her former teammates, Taylor led the conference in points (38) and goals (17) and led the Cardinal to the conference title. Taylor is the seventh Stanford player all-time to win the award and her 17 goals ranks fifth on Stanford's single-season list.

"It's a tremendous honor considering the amount of talent in the Pac-12 and on the Stanford team," said Taylor, a native of nearby Los Altos who attended high school at Castilleja, only two blocks from the Stanford campus. "I never thought about winning it. I'm just focusing on trying to win a national championship."

In addition, Noyola led the Pac-12 in assists and Oliver led in goals-against average (0.25) and had eight shutouts for a Stanford team (19-0-1) that opens the NCAA tournament Friday against visiting Montana as the overall No. 1 seed.

Taylor will complete her Stanford career with four all-conference honors, including three first-team selections.

Ubogagu, from Coppell, Texas, becomes the fourth Stanford player in five years to win the Freshman of the Year award. She was second in the Pac-12 in assists (9), and fifth in goals (8) and (25).

Ratcliffe led the Cardinal to its third consecutive Pac-12 title and a 31-0 conference record in that span. In his four Coach of the Year seasons, Stanford has compiled a 37-1 conference record, a 49-0-1 home mark, and an overall record of 89-4-4.

The Pac-12 first-team honor is the third for Noyola, and the first for Garciamendez, Levin, and Oliver.



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess