Don't have an account? Click Here
Andrew Luck Named One of 16 Semifinalists for Davey O'Brien Award
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 10/25/2010

Oct. 25, 2010

FORT WORTH, Texas-- Sophomore Andrew Luck has been named one of 16 semifinalists for the 2010 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award, as announced today by the Davey O’Brien Foundation in Fort Worth, Texas.

Learn More About Luck

Narrowed down from all 120 quarterbacks from NCAA Division-I Football, the 15 semifinalists were selected by The O’Brien National Selection Committee, with fan voting counting for five percent of the total vote.

The list includes seven juniors, five sophomores, three seniors and one freshman. The Pac-10 Conference is represented by Luck, USC’s Matt Barkley and Darron Thomas of Oregon.

O'Brien VoteFans may help determine which three quarterbacks will advance as finalists by voting often as once a day at Fan voting will close at noon (CT) on Nov. 21.

The finalists will be announced on Monday, Nov. 22 and the winner of the 2010 Davey O’Brien Award will be announced on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on Thursday, Dec. 9.

Luck has completed 133-of-200 passes for 1,728 yards and 19 touchdowns over the first seven games of the season, leading Stanford to a 6-1 start. His 19 TD passes rank seventh on Stanford’s single-season charts.

Luck leads the Pac-10 in total offense (283.0) and ranks second in passing efficiency (165.4). He has completed 40-of-52 passes for 475 yards and six touchdowns in his last two games against USC and Washington State.

About the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award®
The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O’Brien) is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award.

The O’Brien honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character
while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The O’Brien is overseen by the Davey O’Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $800,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

National College Football Awards Association
The O’Brien is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards.

The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients.

2010 Davey O’Brien Semifinalists
Matt Barkley, So., USC
Kirk Cousins, Jr., Michigan State
Andy Dalton, Sr. TCU
Blaine Gabbert, Jr., Missouri
Robert Griffin III, So., Baylor
Landry Jones, So., Oklahoma
Colin Kaepernick, Sr., Nevada
Andrew Luck, So., Stanford
Ryan Mallett, Jr., Arkansas
Taylor Martinez, Fr., Nebraska
Kellen Moore, Jr., Boise State
Cam Newton, Jr. Auburn
Terrelle Pryor, Jr., Ohio State
Denard Robinson, So., Michigan
Ricky Stanzi, Sr., Iowa
Darron Thomas, So., Oregon



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts