Don't have an account? Click Here
Nate Whitaker Named Semifinalist for the Lou Groza Award
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 10/29/2010

Oct. 29, 2010

STANFORD, Calif. - Senior Nate Whitaker has been named one of 20 semifinalists for the Lou Groza Award, which honors the top kicker in the country.

Semifinalists will be voted on by all Division I head coaches, along with national, regional and local football writers who will select the three finalists. The finalists will be honored at the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Awards Banquet on December 7 in West Palm Beach, Fla. The winner will be announced live on the nationally televised Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on the evening of December 9.

Whitaker is 11-for-11 in his field goal attempts this season and has converted 16 straight attempts dating back to last season. He is one of three kickers in the FBS with 10 or more attempts who have a perfect field goal percentage this season, joining Oklahoma State's Dan Bailey (15-15) and Notre Dame's David Ruffer (13-13).

Against Notre Dame, Whitaker made all five of his field goal attempts, tying Stanford's single-game record held by John Hopkins. He also kicked a game-winning 30-yard field goal as time expired to lift Stanford to a 37-35 victory over USC.

For his Stanford career, Whitaker has made 27-of-33 (.818) of his field goal tries and currently ranks first on Stanford's career list for field goal accuracy.

The award is named in honor of one of the all-time great kickers in football history, Lou Groza. Groza played 21 seasons for the Cleveland Browns, setting numerous franchise records, including most games played, most points scored and an amazing 107 consecutive games in which he scored a point. His 1,608 career points ranks third all-time in the NFL and remain a Browns' franchise record. Groza was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1974.

Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award National Semifinalists
Dan Bailey, Oklahoma State
Devin Barclay, Ohio State
Kyle Brotzman, Boise State
Dan Conroy, Michigan State
Derek Dimke, Illinois
Kai Forbath, UCLA
Kevin Goessling, Fresno State
Chris Hazley, Virgina Tech
Alex Henery, Nebraska
Dustin Hopkins, Florida State
Danny Hrapmann, Southern Miss
Josh Jasper, LSU
Aaron Jones, Baylor
Joe Phillips, Utah
Grant Ressel, Missouri
David Ruffer, Notre Dame
Will Snyderwine, Duke
Collin Wagner, Penn State
Blair Walsh, Georgia
Nate Whitaker, Stanford



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts