Don't have an account? Click Here
Andrew Luck Named Finalist for Walter Camp Player of the Year Award
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 12/01/2010

Dec. 1, 2010

STANFORD, Calif. - Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck, who has helped lead the Cardinal to a school-record 11 victories during the 2010 season, has been named one of three finalists for the Walter Camp Football Foundation Player of the Year award.

Luck joins sophomore running back LaMichael James of Oregon and Auburn quarterback Cam Newton on the final ballot.

Luck has completed 245-of-349 (70.2) of his passes this season for 3,051 yards and a school-record 28 touchdowns. He is one of four quarterbacks in school history to throw for over 3,000 yards in a single-season, joining Steve Stenstrom, John Elway and Todd Husak.

He has also established a new single-season record for total offense with 3,489 yards, eclipsing Stenstrom's old mark of 3,398 set in 1993. Luck is also on pace to set single-season records for completion percentage and passing efficiency rating, depending on his performance in Stanford's upcoming bowl game.

The 2010 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, who is voted on by the Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be presented live on Thursday, December 9 during the 6 p.m. edition of ESPN SportsCenter.

Former University of Texas quarterback Colt McCoy, now playing in the NFL for the Cleveland Browns, won the award the previous two years.

The winner will receive his trophy at the Foundation's annual national awards banquet on Saturday, January 15, 2011 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven. Sponsorships and tickets are available by calling (203) 288-CAMP.

Walter Camp, "The Father of American football," first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp - a former Yale University athlete and football coach - is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation - a New Haven-based all-volunteer group - was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and continue the tradition of selecting an annual All-America team.

The Walter Camp Football Foundation is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. Visit



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
Stanford Baseball vs. Oregon