Don't have an account? Click Here
Shane, Burker Receive Tewaaraton Consideration
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 04/18/2006

April 18, 2006

Stanford, Calif. - Cardinal goalkeeper Laura Shane has been named one of the 2006 collegiate nominees for the annual Tewaaraton Trophy, as announced by the Tewaaraton Award Foundation today. The list of nominees for the prestigious honor was narrowed to just 21 players in the nation this week, with Shane remaining one of three goalkeepers on the list. Both Shane and senior Megan Burker were members of the original Watch List, which included 40 of the most elite names in collegiate women's lacrosse.

The Tewaaraton Trophy, known as the lacrosse equivalent of the Heisman Trophy, is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award honoring the top female and male varsity collegiate lacrosse player in the United States. The inaugural presentation of the award took place in June 2001, and it is now presented annually following the collegiate season at a banquet honoring the finalists and winners. Last year, Katie Chrest of Duke was the women's winner and Kyle Harrison of Johns Hopkins was the men's winner.

Prior to the start of the 2006 season, 30 of the nation's top women's players were named to the Preseason Watch List. After a successful 2005 campaign, during which she tallied 30 goals and 49 total points, Burker was named to the select list. The Baltimore, Md. native topped the 100 career goal mark in the 2006 season-opener and is one of only three Stanford players to have her name etched in every category of the Cardinal career record books. So far this season, Burker has 25 goals and 12 assists, for the most total points on the Stanford squad.

Late last month, ten more women's players were added to the Watch List, including Shane. This week, the entire 40-player list was narrowed to just 21, with Shane remaining in contention. The sophomore has already registered 142 saves this season and 346 in her short career. She is currently ranked second in the nation with a .559 save percentage and is tied for the top single-game save mark in the NCAA, after notching 22 against No. 5 North Carolina on April 2.

Shane and the 20 other remaining players await the selection of five finalists at the conclusion of the 2006 season. The Tewaaraton Trophy winner will be named at the annual banquet on June 1.

2006 Tewaaraton Nominees

Chrest, Katie Duke University
Cook, Jen University North Carolina
Cox, Delia University of Maryland
Dougher, Lauren College of New Jersey
Foote, Crysti University of Notre Dame
Hauser, Jenny Boston University
Hordy, Kristen University North Carolina
Key, Mary Johns Hopkins University
Kjellman, Kristen Northwestern University
Koch, Maggie Georgetown University
Leachman, Tyler University of Virginia
Lieb, Nikki University of Virginia
McHarg, Kate Loyola College
Munday, Lindsey Northwestern University
Sanford, Rachel Duke University
Shane, Laura Stanford Unversity
Stanwick, Coco Georgetown University
Vance, Lauren Princeton University
Waagbo, Kristen Duke University
Weymouth, Blair University of Virginia
Zimmer, Kristen Dartmouth University



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
Stanford Baseball vs. USC