Don't have an account? Click Here
Owen Marecic Named a Finalist for the William V. Campbell Trophy
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 10/28/2010

Oct. 28, 2010

STANFORD, Calif. - Stanford senior fullback and linebacker Owen Marecic has been selected as one of 16 finalists for the 2010 William V. Campbell Trophy, an award that is presented annually to the top football scholar-athlete in the country.

As a finalist, Marecic will receive an $18,000 post-graduate scholarship from the National Football Foundation.

Nominated by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, candidates must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, have a grade point average of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The 121 semifinalists for the award were announced on Sept. 30 (names listed below), and the class is selected each year by the NFF Awards Committee, which is comprised of a nationally recognized group of media, College Football Hall of Famers and athletics administrators.

The 2010 National Scholar-Athlete Class will be honored at the 2010 NFF Annual Awards Dinner December 7 at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City. The event will also include the induction of the 2010 College Football Hall of Fame Class and the presentation of several major awards, including the organization's highest honor, the Gold Medal, to American icon Bill Cosby and the Distinguished American Award to renowned journalist and author Tom Brokaw.

A human biology major, Marecic carries a cumulative 3.47 grade point average and was a second team Pac-10 Conference All-Academic selection as a junior. In addition, he was named an ESPN The Magazine/CoSIDA District VIII academic honoree.

He is the only player among FBS institutions to start on both sides of the ball. A four-year starter at fullback, Marecic has rushed 13 times for 31 yards and two touchdowns in seven games this season. He also ranks as the team's fifth-leading tackler with 26 total tackles to go along with a team-high two interceptions.

Earlier this season against Notre Dame, Marecic scored touchdowns on both sides of the ball just seconds apart. He capped an 11-play, 49-yard scoring drive with a one yard touchdown run at the 7:45 mark of the fourth quarter. Following the ensuing kickoff, he returned an interception 20 yards for a touchdown.

He also recorded a career-high 10 tackles against Oregon on Oct. 2.

Marecic has also been involved in a wide variety of community relations endeavors. He participated in the Second Mile program and helped restore a horse ranch in East Palo Alto and a middle school in Menlo Park. He has also served as a camp counselor at the YMCA, worked in a soup kitchen on Christmas Day and served an internship at Stanford's Cardiothoracic Surgery Laboratory.

He has also been growing out his hair with the intention on donating his locks to a national organization that manufactures wigs for cancer patients.

"We are ecstatic about the quality of this year's remarkable National Scholar-Athlete Class. They stand as a testament to our mission of building leaders through football," said NFF President & CEO Steven J. Hatchell. "From top to bottom, this group has established itself as one of the greatest in the 50-plus years of this program, boasting an impressive array of academic and athletic achievements. We look forward to presenting each of them an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship to further their education, as there are no limits to what these young men will accomplish following their football careers."

The NFF's National Scholar-Athlete program, launched in 1959, is the first initiative in the history to award scholar-athletes postgraduate scholarships for their combined athletic, academic and leadership abilities. This year's class members finds themselves in good company, as past National Scholar-Athletes include former NFL standout Derrick Brooks (Florida State); actor Mark Harmon (UCLA); NASA astronaut Leland Melvin (Richmond); former Dateline NBC anchor Stone Phillips (Yale); chairman of Augusta National Golf Club, home of the Masters Tournament, Billy Payne (Georgia); famed NFL quarterback Steve Young (BYU); and Heisman Trophy winners Terry Baker (Oregon State), Gary Beban (UCLA), Doug Flutie (Boston College) and Danny Wuerffel (Florida).

Each finalist will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship, and one of the 16 will be announced as the recipient of the 21ST William V. Campbell Trophy, endowed by HealthSouth, which recognizes an individual as the absolute best scholar-athlete in the nation. Renamed last fall in honor of Bill Campbell, the chairman of Intuit, former player and head coach at Columbia University and the 2004 recipient of the NFF's Gold Medal, the award comes with a 25-pound bronze trophy and a $25,000 post-graduate scholarship. A total distribution of $300,000 in scholarships will be awarded that evening.

National Football Foundation 2010 National Scholar-Athlete Award Winners<.b>
Sam Acho, DE, Texas
Anthony Castonzo, OT, Boston College
Ben Chappel, OD, Indiana
Alex Gross, LB, Columbia
Owen Marecic, Fullback/Linebacker, Stanford
Greg McElroy, QB, Alabama
Mike Mohamed, Linebacker, California
Travis Nissley, LB, Bucknell
Isaac Odom, RB, Minnesota
Christian Ponder, QB, Florida
Derek Sherrod, OT, Mississippi State
Nate Solder, OT, Colorado
Chris Stewart, OG, Notre Dame
Scott Tolzien, QB, Wisconsin
Ben Wartman, HB, Saint Thomas (Minn.)
Stefen Wisniewski, OG, Penn State



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
Stanford Baseball vs. USC