Don't have an account? Click Here
Women's Lacrosse Leads Division I With Eight IWLCA Academic Honors
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 09/08/2009

Sept. 8, 2009

Grand Lake, Colo. - The International Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association has recognized 407 student-athletes at 152 institutions for their excellence in the classroom during the 2008-09 academic year.

Stanford led all Division I schools with eight honorees. Seniors Jamie Nesbitt and Maris Perlman and juniors Charity Fluharty, Eleanor Foote, Dana Lindsay, Leigh Lucas, Bess Siegfried and Melissa Vogelsong made up the Stanford contingent.

All student-athletes were nominated by their institutions and have attained at least junior standing academically. Nominees considered had a GPA of at least 3.5 or were in the top 10 percent of their squad.

Included in the list of honorees are the IWLCA Scholar-Athletes of the Year: Anna Ford from Elizabethtown College, Julie Kraus from Southern New Hampshire University, and Kristin Schwab from Princeton University.

In 2009, Stanford completed a 14-4 regular season where they tied the school record for victories and won the fifth consecutive MPSF title.

Charity Fluharty, Jr., Engineering-Product Design
Eleanor Foote, Jr., Human Biology
Dana Lindsay, Jr., Political Science
Leigh Lucas, Jr., English-Creative Writing
Jamie Nesbitt, Sr., Engineering-Biomedical Computation
Maris Perlman, Sr., Human Biology (Psychology)
Bess Siegfried, Sr., Communication (Sociology)
Melissa Vogelsong, Jr., Human Biology



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
Stanford Baseball vs. USC