Don't have an account? Click Here
Shaw on Watch List for National Coach of the Year Award
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 10/27/2011

Oct. 27, 2011

HOUSTON-- Stanford head coach David Shaw is one of 20 coaches on the “watch list” for the Bear Bryant Coach of the Year award, given annually following the conclusion of the bowl season.

The first year head coach will lead the No. 3-ranked Cardinal into USC for a prime time showdown with the Trojans on Saturday at 5 p.m.

Shaw has led the Cardinal to a perfect 7-0 record and the nation's longest win streak at 15 games. Stanford is coming off a school-record 446 yards in a 65-21 win over Washington.

In December, a finalists’ list will be announced and be comprised of five to ten coaches. Finalists will attend an awards dinner on Jan. 19, 2012 in Houston, Texas at the HYATT Regency Hotel Downtown, where the winner will be announced live.

Bryant Coach of the Year Watch List (alphabetical order):
Frank  Beamer – Virginia Tech University    
Bret Bielema – University of Wisconsin
Mark Dantonio – Michigan State University
Mike Gundy – Oklahoma State University
Brady Hoke – University of Michigan
Mark Hudspeth – University of Louisiana
Chip Kelly – University of Oregon
Les Miles – Louisiana State University
Joe Paterno – Penn State University    
Bo Pelini – University of Nebraska
Chris Petersen – Boise State University
Bobby Petrino – University of Arkansas
Nick Saban – University of Alabama
David Shaw – Stanford University
Bill Snyder – Kansas State University
Steve Spurrier – University of South Carolina
Bob Stoops – University of Oklahoma
Kevin Sumlin – University of Houston
Dabo Swinney – Clemson University
Tommy Tuberville – Texas Tech University



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts