Don't have an account? Click Here
Six Cardinal Earn All-MPSF Honors
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 04/26/2012

April 26, 2012

Complete MPSF ReleaseGet Acrobat Reader

STANFORD, Calif. - The night before the Cardinal will take on Denver in the conference semifinals, Stanford attended the MPSF season-ending banquet where postseason awards were announced. The Cardinal was well represented with three on the All-MPSF first team and three on the second team.

Earning first-team honors were seniors Emilie Boeri and Catherine Swanson, along with freshman Hannah Farr. Boeri leads the Cardinal with 34 goals and 21 assists, while Swanson leads Stanford with 45 draw controls. Both earned first team honors for the first time.

Farr, who was a member of the NCAA Championship soccer team, as well as playing lacrosse, has made a big impact in her first season. She has scored 20 goals and used her speed and competitiveness to make plays all over the field. Farr becomes the first freshman to earn All-MPSF first team honors since Lauren Schmidt in 2007.

Earning second team honors for the Cardinal were Anna Kim, Lyndsey Munoz and Nina Swanson. Kim was honored despite missing seven games due to injury, but has come back strong to lead Stanford to a 4-1 record since her return.

Munoz and Swanson have keyed the Cardinal defense with Munoz playing every minute of the season in goal and Swanson being Stanford's most consistent defender. Munoz has made 141 saves, while Swanson leads the Cardinal with 14 caused turnovers.

The Cardinal will now set its sights on the MPSF tournament with hopes of winning its eighth-straight. The Cardinal host Denver on Friday night at Cagan Stadium at 7pm. In the early semifinal, California will take on Oregon with the winners of each game playing on Sunday at 1pm in the final. The MPSF tournament champion will host an NCAA play-in game against the winner of the Patriot League.



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts