Don't have an account? Click Here
Eight Wresters Earn Pac-12 All-Academic Honors
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 04/23/2013

April 23, 2013

STANFORD, Calif. - Eight Stanford wrestlers were named to the Pac-12 All-Academic teams, Commissioner Larry Scott announced today. The Cardinal had at least two more selections than any other team in the conference.

Earning first team honors for Stanford were redshirt junior Michael Sojka. Meyer, a psychology major, was a second-team pick in 2010-11. Sojka is majoring in atmosphere & energy and is being recognized for the first time in his career.

Stanford had six student-athletes selected to the second team, led by senior Timmy Boone. An international relations major, Boone picks up his third consecutive all-academic award. Juniors Donovan Halpin, Garrett Schaner, Dan Scherer and Alan Yen all garnered their second accolades, while sophomore Josh Lauderdale earns his first award.

CSU Bakersfield had six honorees, while Boise State and Oregon State had four apiece.

To be eligible for selection to the academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade-point average and be a significant contributor to his team.



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts