Don't have an account? Click Here
A.J. Tarpley
Three More to Watch
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 07/14/2014

STANFORD, Calif. –  Stanford’s trio of Henry Anderson, Andrus Peat and A.J. Tarpley have been named to the Rotary Lombardi Award Watch List, which comprises 123 athletes from 76 universities.

Eligibility for the Rotary Lombardi Award is limited to down linemen, end-to-end, either on offense or defense, who set up no farther than 10 yards to the left or right of the ball, or linebackers who set up no farther than five yards deep from the line of scrimmage. The candidates earned a place on the preliminary watch list by earning All-American honors, being named to their respective all-conference teams or receiving 2014 pre-season honors.

The Rotary Lombardi Award Committee is comprised of more than 300 members, including all past winners and finalists, all Division 1 head coaches and a panel of sportswriters and broadcasters.

The 45th Rotary Lombardi Award will be held on Wednesday, December 10, 2014 at the Bayou Music Center in Houston, Texas. 

Anderson has now been named to four preseason watch lists The preseason accolades give notice to high esteem that voters have for Anderson, who was limited to eight games during 2013 due to a leg injury. Despite the injury, Anderson still earned all-Pac-12 honors – the second time in his career that he earned recognition by the league’s coaches. The political science major and 2013 Pac-12 All-Academic team honoree, had his breakout campaign in 2012 where he logged 16 tackles for a loss from his defensive end position.

Tarpley has earned mention on three preseason watch lists so far. The fifth-year senior started 32 career games at inside linebacker and is regarded as one of Stanford’s most underrated players. Award organizations have taken notice with the Plymouth, Minn. native also earning a spot on the Bednarik list. Tarpley finished second on the Cardinal defense with 93 tackles in 2013 (52 solo) while playing opposite of All-Americans Shayne Skov and Trent Murphy.

This year marks the second on the Maxwell preseason list for Hogan, a multi-faceted quarterback who ran for the third-highest single season yardage by a Stanford quarterback last season (355 yards). Through the air Hogan attempted just 295 passes but completed 180 of them (61 percent) en route to 2,630 yards and 20 touchdowns. 

Peat makes his second career watch list after quickly earning recognition last year in his first season as a starter. In fact, head coach David Shaw moved two-time All-American David Yankey (drafted by Minnesota this spring) last season from left tackle to left guard to make room for Peat’s 6 foot 7, 312 pound frame guarding quarterback Kevin Hogan’s back. The nation’s top-rated recruit by Sporting News out of Chandler, Ariz. in 2011, Peat already has one career All-America honor under his belt (Sports Illustrated) and is a preseason first team selection by Athlon.

The Jim Thorpe Award Banquet will be held on Tuesday, February 3, 2015 in Oklahoma City, Okla.

Stanford’s season opens Aug. 30 with a 1 p.m. (PT) home game against UC Davis on Pac-12 Networks. The Cardinal plays its first three games at home with USC visiting the Stadium Sept. 6 (12:30 p.m., ABC) and Army visiting Sept. 13 (2 p.m., Pac-12 Net).

Season tickets are on sale with five sections and price levels already sold out. Three-game Mini plans are also on sale now.

Season ticket holders are eligible to purchase individual game tickets for all 2014 home games starting July 8-9. Single-game tickets go on sale July 21 with a special online-only promotion code through Stanford’s Facebook and @GoStanford Twitter account. All tickets are on sale starting July 22.

Fans are encouraged to visit to buy season tickets.

2014 Preseason Watch List (through today’s announcements)
Maxwell Award (Player of the year)
Kevin Hogan
Ty Montgomery

Bednarik Award (Defensive player of the year)
Henry Anderson
Alex Carter
Jordan Richards
A.J. Tarpley

Rimington Award (Most outstanding center)
Graham Shuler

Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award (Most outstanding place kicker)
Jordan Williamson

Bronko Nagurski Award (Outstanding defensive player)
Henry Anderson
Alex Carter
Jordan Richards
A.J. Tarpley

John Outland Trophy (Outstanding interior lineman)
Henry Anderson
Andrus Peat

Jim Thorpe Award (Best defensive back)
Jordan Richards

Rotary Lombardi Award (Lineman of the year)
Henry Anderson
Andrus Peat
A.J. Tarpley



Weekly Axe Ad Space
Muscle Milk Student Athletes