Don't have an account? Click Here
Varsity Eight
Varsity Eight Wins C Final
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 06/01/2014

WEST WINDSOR, N.J. – The Stanford men’s rowing team wrapped up the IRA National Championships on Sunday with a win in the varsity eight C final.

“Both crews represented Stanford well by giving everything they had today,” said head coach Craig Amerkhanian. “That is all we can ask them to do.”

The Cardinal top eight won its race to finish 13th overall, the seed it held entering the weekend. Stanford ended up with victories in each of its final two races. The final time for the Cardinal was 5:49.658 as they topped No. 14 Penn by nearly 2.5 seconds. Oregon State came in third, a half second behind Penn.

The second varsity eight leaves the IRA National Championships with a 16th place finish. The boat finished fourth in the C final with a time of 5:53.149. They were 3.5 seconds off the leader Dartmouth and 2.7 seconds back of Syracuse.

Stanford’s season comes to a close. Today was the final race for two seniors, Austin Hack and Will Robins. The bulk of the team returns for next season, including a group of four freshmen who saw time in the varsity eight in 2014.

“Our men know what they have to do to improve for next year,” said Amerkhanian. “Through racing this weekend they developed learning techniques. They are leaving with a backpack full of knowledge.”

IRA National Championships
Lake Mercer
West Windsor, N.J.
June 1, 2014


Varsity Eight
1. Stanford – 5:49.658
2. George Washington – 5:51.057
3. FIT – 5:51.497
4. Syracuse – 5:54.692
5. Penn – 5:55.036
6. Oregon State – 5:59.622

Second Varsity Eight
1. Dartmouth – 5:48.135
2. Syracuse – 5:50.512
3. Harvard – 5:50.776
4. Stanford – 5:53.149
5. Drexel – 5:55.122
6. Gonzaga – 5:59.775

Boat Lineups
Varsity Eight: Coxswain Nathalie Weiss, Austin Hack, Nico Cserepy, Kaess Smit, Dave Dolben, Max Freundlich, Robbie Ostrow, Scott Roycroft, Ryan Hails
Second Varsity Eight: Ardsley Sanders, Andrew Terajewicz, Andrew Gyenis, Ryan O’Rourke, Charlie Walker, Ben Chuter, Erik Holmvik, Ben Weems, Will Robins


Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts