Don't have an account? Click Here
Bret Baumbach and Dan Scherer
Season in Review
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 05/02/2013

May 2, 2013

STANFORD, Calif. - The Stanford wrestling team celebrated another memorable season with its annual awards banquet on Saturday night. The Cardinal recognized numerous wrestlers with team awards and bid farewell to senior Timmy Boone.

Junior 165-pounder Bret Baumbach captured the Vern Jones Outstanding Wrestler and the BAGUBA Award. Baumbach became the Cardinal's 15th Pac-12 Champion, marking a school record four straight years with a conference champion. He was one of three NCAA qualifiers for Stanford, finishing the season with a 23-12 overall record.

Junior heavyweight Dan Scherer also took home the Outstanding Scholar-Athlete award, given to the wrestlers with the best combination of academic and athletic success. Scherer is a two-time Pac-12 All-Academic selection and holds a 3.37 GPA as a management, science & engineering major. He finished the season 22-14 overall record and qualified for his first NCAA Championships.

Evan Silver, a redshirt freshman, received the Most Improved award. The 125-pounder led the team with a 26-15 overall record and was the runner-up at the Pac-12 Championships. He upset 11th-seeded Nikko Triggas of Ohio State in his first NCAA Tournament appearance. Silver's 26 wins were the fifth-most by a Cardinal wrestler in school history.

The Coaches Award, given to the individual who made the most significant contributions to the well-being of the team in terms of attitude, improvement, or special leadership, was given to Boone. The Poway, Calif., native gave an inspiring speech, reminiscing about his time on The Farm and giving advice to his teammates.

Seven wrestlers were recognized with the Tod Surmon Award for their outstanding performance at a home dual this season. The winners were as follows: Baumbach (Arizona State), Peter Russo (Michigan), Scherer (Penn & Air Force), Silver (Northwestern & Rutgers) and Michael Sojka (Central Michigan).

Stanford wrestlers continued to excel in the classroom this year. The Cardinal led the conference with eight wrestlers earning Pac-12 All-Academic honors. Earning First Team accolades were Sojka and redshirt junior Donovan Halpin, Josh Lauderdale, Garrett Schaner and Alan Yen.

Under the direction of fifth-year head coach Jason Borrelli, Stanford sent three wrestlers to the NCAA Championships in Des Moines, Iowa. The Cardinal secured a Pac-12 Championship for the fourth consecutive season, setting a school record.



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
The Cardinal Facts